top of page

ILLINOIS CENTRAL TRAIN STATION, June 9, 2022, Nashville, TN, to Jackson, MS - RIDE 14

Updated: Jun 21, 2022

The last 5 pictured below: Winonah Beamer, Edward Bromberg, Patricia Bryant, Del Greenblatt, and Heath Rush.




I was not involved in activist politics...just responding to things that were going on. First there was the horrible bus burning. Then when I heard there was a way we could get there and something we could actually do, I wanted to go.


I went to my mother because I was what, nineteen. And I wanted her to write and sign some kind of release thing that CORE (Congress of Racial Equality) really wanted, especially with young people. And so I was telling Mom and my brother, David, another David, came in and he had pictures from Look or Life, I can''t remember which, of the Anniston bombing...And he said, Mom, look at this, this is what she's talking about, Mom, listen.


And so Mother said oh, oh, oh, I don't think so. No. No.


And I said, Mother, having gone to all these schools throughout my childhood and with a single-parent mom trying to orchestrate all of this, I have written many excuses and signed your name. I said, Mother, either you write it or I'll write it. I've done it before. I can do it again. This isn't gonna make a difference. -Winonah Beamer (Breach of Peach, Etheridge, 2018)

7 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page