top of page

ILLINOIS CENTRAL TRAIN STATION, June 20, 1961, New Orleans, LA, to Jackson MS - RIDE 21

Updated: Jun 21, 2022

Rita Carter, Margaret Kerr, Robert Martinson, Paul McConnell, Frederick Muntean, Rev. Grant Muse, Jr., Lestra Peterson, Joan Pleune, Joseph Pratt, Jorgia Siegel, Buron Teale, Lawrence Triss, Jr., Tomas Van Roland, and William Wagoner.




The Jackson police didn't quite know what to do with me once they arrested me, because I didn't look particularly Caucasian to them. I was pretty tan. I tan easily...So first they put me in the black cell. There were two cells for women there, one for black women and one for white. And then they realized that this other person [my sister, Alice] and I had the same last name and...she was clearly white. So they moved me to the white cell. It really just showed you how silly it all was. -Joan Pleune (Breach of Peace, Etheridge, 2018)


8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page