top of page

GREYHOUND, June 19, 1961 - Ride 20

Updated: Jun 21, 2022

Last person (man) pictured below: Eugene Levine




Eugene Levine. Age thirty-four. One of the older Riders to join the cause. And not a joiner.


I guess he stepped in it this time, for someone who didn't like joining groups.


"I drove straight from Stillwater [OK] to the Jackson train station and got arrested. The police saw I was alone -- I hate joining groups -- and older than the usual Freedom Rider. I told them I was a veteran -- in the 11th Airborne in postwar Japan -- and they said, "We're going to take you back to your car, and you can go home."


I told them they were wasting their time and trying to start a race war in Mississippi, and if they let me go, I would go back to the train station and sit with the blacks.


They let me go and I went back to the train station. -Eugene Levine (Breach of Peace, Etheridge, 2018)

8 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page