top of page

GREYHOUND, June 16, 1961 - Nashville, TN, to Jackson, MS - RIDE 19

Updated: Jun 21, 2022

Pictured below, starting with the second person (woman) in the 1st row: Elizabeth Adler, Bob Filner, Elizabeth Hirschfeld, Karen Kyle, and Leon Rice




Born in Ithaca, NY, Elizabeth Hirschfeld grew up in and about Detroit, MI. She was 24 at the time of her ride on June 16, 1961. After the Freedom Rides campaign, she became a fundraiser for CORE in Detroit.


"After the Freedom Rides I was in Detroit raising money for CORE. There was an organization in Detroit called Friends of the South and it was kind of an upper-middle-class leftist, Jewish red-diaper-baby organization and they took me under their wing and helped me.

I talked to unions, I talked to churches, I talked to synagogues, I talked to parties. - Elizabeth Hirschfeld." (Breach of Peace, Etheridge, 2018)


Simultaneously and subsequent to fundraising, she was active in many community and union organizing efforts, including helping to organize a chapter in Michigan for the United Farm Works Union. Later, Hirschfeld moved to Oakland, CA, where she took on work in the fields of finance and education, respectively.


Elizabeth Hirschfeld retired from teaching in 2016.

2 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page